Looking for answers? Here is a list of the most common questions. Can't find an answer for yours? You can always consult the How to Become a Candidate webpageopens a new window or contact us at CSEP-PESC@elections.caopens a new window

Recent Changes

How will the nomination process be affected by COVID-19?

Elections Canada has developed new measures and guidelines for the nomination process in the context of the COVID-19 pandemic. Prospective candidates can now collect elector signatures using the new Section F – Single Elector Consenting to Candidacyopens a new window form. For more information on nomination and campaign procedures affected by COVID-19, you may consult the Tools for Candidatesopens a new window section of the Elections Canada website.

Using the Political Entities Service Centre

Who can I contact if I need assistance with the Political Entities Service Centre?

Contact Elections Canada's Political Entities Support Network by phone at 1-800-486-6563, TTY at 1-800-361-8935, or email at CSEP-PESC@elections.caopens a new window.

How do I update my contact information?

You can update your contact information from the My Account page (accessible via the drop-down menu beneath your name in the top right corner of the screen).

Can I change my passphrase or security questions?

You can change your passphrase or security questions via the My Account page of your PESC account.

Candidate Nominations

How do I withdraw a nomination after becoming a confirmed candidate?

A confirmed candidate can withdraw their nomination at any time before 5:00 p.m. local time on the closing day for nominations (the 21st day before polling day). The candidate must personally file a written statement with the returning officer that they are withdrawing. The statement must be signed by the candidate and witnessed by two electors who are entitled to vote in the electoral district in which the candidates' nomination was confirmed. (CEA s. 74opens a new window)

What are the main differences between a Nomination Paper and an online nomination form?

The Nomination Paper is the document that all prospective candidates must complete and submit to the returning officer of their electoral district at the established time in order to become a confirmed candidate (i.e. have their name appear on the ballot) in any federal election. The online nomination form is the electronic version of the Nomination Paper, and can be completed online and joined by digital copies of identification or signature documents to complete the nomination requirements and become a confirmed candidate.

For more information on the differences between the two options for completing nomination requirements, you may consult the Tools for Candidatesopens a new window webpage on the Elections Canada public website.

What is a Nomination Submission Key and how do I get mine?

In order to be able to submit your online nomination form through the Political Entities Service Center, you will need to enter a Nomination Submission Key: a 4-digit code unique to your online nomination form which can only be provided by the returning officer or assistant returning officer of the electoral district that you plan on running in.

To obtain your Nomination Submission Key, you must contact them and provide your Nomination Identifier Number. The contact information for your electoral district's local returning office is made available after the election is called.

Election Signs and Advertising

What is meant by the term election advertising?

The CEA defines election advertising as the transmission to the public by any means during an election period of an advertising message that promotes or opposes a registered party or the election of a candidate, including by taking a position on an issue with which a registered party or candidate is associated.

However, it does not include:

  • transmissions of editorials, debates, speeches, interviews, columns, letters, commentaries or news to the public;
  • the distribution or promotion of the sale of a book for less than its commercial value if it was planned to be made available regardless of the holding of an election;
  • transmissions of documents directly by a person or group to their members;
  • transmissions via the Internet of a person's own political views on a non-commercial basis; or
  • telephone calls to electors if they only encourage them to vote.

For more information, please refer to our Opinions, Guidelines and Interpretationsopens a new window page on our website.

Does the name of the official agent have to appear on advertising?

No. The Act requires that an election advertising message include the mention that its transmission was “authorized by the official agent of [candidate name]”, but it does not require that the actual name of the official agent be mentioned. (CEA s. 320opens a new window)

Does all election advertising have to be authorized by the official agent?

Yes. A candidate or registered party, or a person acting on their behalf, who causes election advertising to be conducted shall mention in or on the message that its transmission was authorized by the official agent of the candidate or by the registered agent of the party, as the case may be. (CEA s. 320opens a new window)

What are the rules regulating the placement or removal of election signs?

Signs on private property: apartments and condominiums

Property owners and condominium corporations do not have the right to prevent tenants from putting up election signs on the premises they lease or own in a condo or apartment building.

However, property owners and condominium corporations do have the right to set reasonable conditions on the size and type of sign, and to prohibit signs in common areas, whether indoors or outdoors. (CEA s. 322opens a new window)

Signs placed without your permission

The CEA does not affect the right of private residential property owners to control which people enter their property, or which things are placed on it. If a sign has been placed on private residential property without permission, the CEA does not prevent a property owner from removing it.

If you are not sure whether the sign is on private or public property, check with the municipality or other government agency.

Signs on public property

The CEA states that no one may interfere with the transmission of election advertising, such as an election sign. (CEA, s. 325opens a new window)

However:

  • Public service employees may remove signs that do not respect provincial or municipal laws, after informing the person who authorized the posting of the sign that they plan to remove it.
  • If the sign is a safety hazard, government authorities may remove it without informing the person who authorized the posting of the sign.

Signs that are destroyed, removed or stolen

Elections Canada has no jurisdiction to deal with signs that are destroyed, removed or stolen. The candidates may do the following:

  • notify the local police, as destruction of private property is a criminal offence; and/or
  • send a complaint in writing to the Commissioner of Canada Elections.

Is candidate signage allowed at a polling place?

No person, candidate or political party shall post or display election advertising in, or on the exterior surface of, a polling place. (CEA s. 166(1)(a)opens a new window)

Who is responsible for removing campaign signs after an event?

The candidate is responsible. Removal of campaign signs is governed by regional and/or municipal by-laws and not by Elections Canada.

How do I make a complaint about election signs?

The CEA regulates election advertising, including the use of election signs, only during a federal election period.

To make a complaint or allegation of wrongdoing about election signs displayed during a federal election, please write to the Office of the Commissioner of Canada Elections.opens a new window

What is the “blackout period”

The blackout period is a ban on election advertising and the transmission of election survey results that have not previously been transmitted to the public, enforced on election day.

Candidates' Representatives

What can candidates' representatives do and not do at polling stations?

Can a candidate's representative request that an elector take an Oath of Residence?

Yes. If a deputy returning officer, poll clerk, candidate or candidate's representative has reasonable doubts concerning the residence of an elector (whose pieces of identification do not prove the elector's residence but are consistent with the information on the list of electors), they may request that the elector take the prescribed oath, in which case the residence is deemed to have been proven only if the elector takes that oath. (CEA s. 143(3.2)opens a new window)

Are candidates' representatives allowed to examine the list of electors?

Yes. During voting hours, candidates' representatives can examine the list of electors with the deputy returning officer, provided their examination does not delay an elector in casting their vote (see Guidelines for Candidates' Representatives (EC 20045)opens a new window).

Can candidates' representatives handle an elector's proof of identification?

No. Candidates' representatives can request to examine, but not handle, an elector's identification when the deputy returning officer is verifying proof of identity and residence. Electors may vote even if they refuse to allow the representative to examine their identification. Election officers will keep a record of such situations in the Events Log (see Guidelines for Candidates' Representatives (EC 20045)opens a new window).

What colours can the candidates' representatives wear?

Candidate's representatives may not wear colours or emblems in the polling place that would indicate support for any candidate or political party that endorsed a candidate in the electoral district. (CEA s. 166 (1)(b)opens a new window)

Vous cherchez des réponses? Voici une liste des questions les plus courantes. Vous ne trouvez pas de réponse à la vôtre? Vous pouvez toujours consulter la page Comment se porter candidat ouvre une nouvelle fenêtre ou nous contacter à CSEP-PESC@elections.ca ouvre une nouvelle fenêtre

Changements récents

Comment est-ce que le processus de mise en candidature va être affecté par l'incidence de la COVID-19?

Élections Canada a développé des nouvelles mesures et lignes directrices concernant le processus de mise en candidature dans le contexte de l’incidence de la COVID-19. Les candidats potentiels peuvent maintenant recueillir des signatures d’électeurs en utilisant le nouveau formulaire Section F – électeur unique consentant à la candidature.ouvre une nouvelle fenêtre Pour plus de renseignements sur les changements portés aux processus concernant les entités politiques, veuillez consulter la section Outils pour les candidatsouvre une nouvelle fenêtre du site Web d’Élections Canada.

Utilisation du Centre de service aux entités politiques

Avec qui puis-je communiquer si j'ai besoin d'aide avec le Centre de service aux entités politiques?

Communiquez avec le Réseau de soutien aux entités politiques d'Élections Canada par téléphone au 1-800-486-6363, ATS au 1-800-486-6563 ou par courriel à CSEP-PESC@elections.ca ouvre une nouvelle fenêtre .

Comment mettre à jour mes coordonnées?

Vous pouvez mettre à jour vos coordonnées à partir de la page Mon compte (accessible par l'entremise du menu déroulant sous votre nom dans le coin supérieur droit de l'écran).

Puis-je modifier ma phrase de passe ou mes questions de sécurité?

Vous pouvez modifier votre phrase de passe ou vos questions de sécurité en accédant la page Mon compte de votre compte CSEP.

Mises en candidature

Comment puis-je retirer une candidature après avoir été confirmé comme candidat?

Un candidat confirmé qui souhaite retirer sa candidature peut le faire à tout moment avant 17 h (heure locale) le jour de clôture pour les nominations (le 21e jour avant le jour du scrutin). Le candidat doit remettre personnellement au directeur du scrutin une déclaration écrite attestant qu'il se retire, signée par le candidat et deux électeurs agissant à titre de témoins et pouvant voter dans la circonscription où la candidature a été confirmée. ( LEC, art. 74 ouvre une nouvelle fenêtre )

Quelles sont les différences principales entre un acte de candidature papier et un acte de candidature en ligne?

L'acte de candidature est le document que tous les candidats potentiels doivent remplir et soumettre au directeur du scrutin de leur circonscription électorale a l'heure prescrite pour devenir candidat confirmé (et avoir leur nom sur le bulletin de vote) dans toutes élections fédérales. L'acte de candidature en ligne est la version électronique du document papier, et peut donc combler les exigences pour devenir candidat à travers un formulaire en ligne accompagné de copies digitales des documents requis en pièces jointes.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur les différences entre les deux options de mise en candidature, veuillez consulter la page Outils pour les candidats ouvre une nouvelle fenêtre du site Web d'Élections Canada.

Qu'est-ce qu'une Clé de soumission de candidature et comment puis-je obtenir la mienne?

Pour qu'un candidat puisse soumettre son acte de candidature en ligne via le Centre de service aux entités politiques, il doit entrer une Clé de soumission de candidature : un code de quatre chiffres unique à votre mise en candidature qui peut seulement vous être fournie par l'entremise du directeur du scrutin (ou son député) de la circonscription dans laquelle vous voulez devenir candidat.

Pour obtenir la Clé de soumission de candidature, vous devez contacter le bureau et fournir votre Numéro identificateur de la candidature. Les coordonnées du bureau du directeur du scrutin de votre circonscription seront affichées une fois qu'une élection sera déclenchée.

Publicité électorale et affichage

Qu'est-ce que le terme publicité électorale signifie?

La LEC définie la publicité électorale comme la diffusion, sur un support quelconque et pendant une période électorale, d'un message publicitaire qui favorise ou contrecarre un parti enregistré ou l'élection d'un candidat, notamment par une prise de position sur une question à laquelle est associé un parti enregistré ou un candidat.

Par contre, les éléments suivants ne sont pas inclus dans la définition :

  • la diffusion d'éditoriaux, de débats, de discours, de nouvelles, d'entrevues, de chroniques, de commentaires ou de lettres;
  • la promotion ou la distribution, pour une valeur non inférieure à sa valeur commerciale, d'un ouvrage dont la mise en vente avait été planifiée sans égard à la tenue de l'élection;
  • l'envoi d'un document par une personne ou un groupe directement à ses membres, actionnaires ou employés;
  • la diffusion par un individu, sur une base non commerciale, de ses opinions politiques sur Internet;
  • les appels téléphoniques destinés uniquement à inciter les électeurs à voter.

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez consulter la page d'avis écrits, lignes directrices et notes d'interprétation ouvre une nouvelle fenêtre de notre site Web.

Doit-on indiquer le nom de l'agent officiel dans la publicité?

Non. Seule la mention « autorisée par l'agent officiel du [nom du candidat] » est obligatoire selon la Loi. Le nom de l'agent officiel n'est toutefois pas exigé. ( LEC, art. 320 ouvre une nouvelle fenêtre )

Est-ce que la publicité électorale doit-elle toujours être autorisée par l'agent officiel?

Oui. Le candidat ou le parti enregistré, ou toute personne agissant en leur nom, qui font faire de la publicité électorale doivent indiquer dans la publicité que sa diffusion est autorisée par l'agent officiel du candidat ou par l'agent enregistré du parti, selon le cas. ( LEC, art. 320 ouvre une nouvelle fenêtre )

Quelles sont les règles concernant le placement ou le retrait des affiches électorales?

Affiches sur une propriété privée : appartements et condominiums

Les propriétaires et les sociétés de gestion d'un immeuble en copropriété n'ont pas le droit d'empêcher les occupants de mettre en place des affiches électorales dans les lieux qu'ils louent ou possèdent.

Toutefois, les propriétaires et les sociétés de gestion d'un immeuble en copropriété ont le droit d'imposer des conditions raisonnables quant à la taille et au type d'affiche et d'interdire les affiches dans les parties communes, à l'intérieur ou à l'extérieur. ( LEC, art. 322 ouvre une nouvelle fenêtre )

Affiches placées sans votre permission

La LEC n'interdit pas aux propriétaires de résidences privées d'exercer un contrôle sur les personnes qui accèdent à leur propriété ou sur les objets qui y sont placés. Si une affiche a été placée sur une propriété résidentielle privée sans autorisation, la LEC n'empêche pas un propriétaire de la retirer.

Si vous ne savez pas si l'affiche est sur une propriété privée ou publique, vérifiez auprès de la municipalité ou d'un autre organisme gouvernemental.

Affiches sur la propriété publique

La LEC stipule que personne ne peut empêcher la diffusion de la publicité électorale telle une affiche électorale. ( LEC, art. 325 ouvre une nouvelle fenêtre )

Toutefois :

  • les employés du service public peuvent retirer les affiches qui ne respectent pas les lois provinciales ou municipales après avoir informé la personne qui a autorisé l'affichage qu'ils prévoient les enlever.
  • si l'affiche pose un risque pour la sécurité, les autorités gouvernementales peuvent l'enlever sans donner d'avis à la personne qui a autorisé l'affichage.

Affiches détruites, enlevées ou volées

Élections Canada n'a pas compétence pour traiter des situations concernant les affiches détruites, enlevées ou volées. Les candidats peuvent faire ce qui suit :

  • informer la police locale, car la destruction de la propriété privée est une infraction criminelle;
  • envoyer une plainte par écrit au commissaire aux élections fédérales.

Les affiches électorales des candidats sont-elles permises à un lieu de scrutin?

Non. Il est interdit à quiconque d'apposer ou d'exhiber à l'intérieur d'un lieu de scrutin ou sur les aires extérieures de celui-ci l'affiche électorale d'un candidat. ( LEC, alinéa 166(1)a ouvre une nouvelle fenêtre )

Qui est chargé du retrait des affiches électorales après un scrutin?

Le candidat en est responsable. Cette question est régie par les règlements régionaux ou municipaux et non par Élections Canada.

Comment puis-je déposer une plainte concernant les affiches électorales?

La LEC régit la publicité électorale, notamment l'utilisation des affiches électorales, seulement pendant une période électorale fédérale.

Pour déposer une plainte ou faire part d'un acte répréhensible concernant des affiches électorales lors d'une élection fédérale, veuillez vous adresser au commissaire aux élections fédérales. ouvre une nouvelle fenêtre

Qu'est-ce que la « période d'interdiction de publicité »?

La période d'interdiction de publicité, en vigueur le jour du scrutin, empêche la diffusion de publicité électorale et la transmission de résultats de sondages électoraux qui n'ont pas encore été communiqués au public.

Représentants des candidats

Que peuvent faire et ne pas faire les représentants des candidats aux bureaux de scrutin?

Un représentant de candidat peut-il demander à un électeur de faire une déclaration de résidence sous serment?

Oui. Si le scrutateur, greffier du scrutin, candidat ou son représentant a des doutes raisonnables au sujet de la résidence d'un électeur (dont la pièce d'identité n'établit pas sa résidence mais qui concorde avec les renseignements figurant sur la liste électorale), il peut lui demander de prêter le serment prescrit. La résidence est considérée prouvée par l'électeur seulement s'il prête le serment. ( LEC, par. 143(3.2) ouvre une nouvelle fenêtre )

Les représentants des candidats peuvent-ils consulter la liste électorale?

Oui. Pendant les heures de vote, les représentants des candidats peuvent consulter la liste électorale en présence du scrutateur, pourvu que cela ne nuise pas au processus de vote (voir les Lignes directrices pour les représentants des candidats (EC 20045) ouvre une nouvelle fenêtre )

Les représentants des candidats peuvent-ils manipuler une pièce d'identité d'un électeur?

Non. Les représentants des candidats peuvent examiner, mais non manipuler, toute pièce d'identité présentée par un électeur lorsque le scrutateur vérifie son identité et sa résidence. Les électeurs qui refusent de présenter leur pièce d'identité à un représentant pourront tout de même voter, mais les fonctionnaires électoraux consigneront ces cas dans le Registre des situations (voir les Lignes directrices pour les représentants des candidats (EC 20045) ouvre une nouvelle fenêtre )

Quelles couleurs ce que les représentants des candidats peuvent porter?

Dans un bureau de scrutin, les représentants des candidats ne peuvent pas exhiber ou porter des couleurs ou des insignes qui permettraient d'identifier leur appui d'un candidat ou d'un parti politique qui soutient un candidat dans la circonscription. ( LEC, alinéa 166(1)b ouvre une nouvelle fenêtre )